Do you control it or does it control you?

Mu’ādh bin Jabal reported: I asked the Messenger of Allāh: “Inform me of an act which will cause me to enter Jannah and keep me far from Hell.” He replied, “You have asked me about a matter of great importance, but it is easy for one for whom Allāh makes it easy.” He added, “Worship Allāh, associate nothing with Him in worship, offer As-Ṣalāh (the prayer), pay the Zakāh, observe Șaum (fasting) during Ramaḍān and perform Ḥajj (pilgrimage) to the House of Allāh, if you can afford it.” …………………………

Then he (PBUH) asked, “Shall I tell you of that which controls all these things?” I said: “Yes, O Messenger of Allāh.” So he took hold of his tongue and said, “Keep this in control.” I asked: “O Messenger of Allāh! Shall we really be accounted for what we talk about?” He replied, “May your mother mourn you! Does anything cause people to be thrown on their faces into Hell, except the harvest of their tongues?”

Narrated by Imām Tirmidhi, Graded Hasan Ṣaḥīḥ.

One thought on “Do you control it or does it control you?

  1. Pingback: SAMT: DISCIPLINING THE TONGUE :Training for Tazkiyah Tun Nafs | Siraat-e-Mustaqeem

Leave a Reply

