HAVE YOU EVER YEARNED FOR MADINAH?

 

بسم اللّٰہ الرحمٰن الرحیم

السلامُ علیکم و رحمۃ اللہ و برکاتہ

 

Madeenah….I love You

by

GUEST AUTHOR: Asma bint Shameem

In the middle of the desert, across the seven seas

Lies a  lush valley most beloved to me

There are no skyscrapers, there is no fancy life

There is nothing of this dunya yet it’s the most beautiful sight

Beautiful are its little houses, so charming are its dusty roads

So gorgeous are its palm trees, bending over with their loads

Its nights are so fragrant, its days are so blessed

no one can describe it….no words to express it

In Madeenah there is peace, Madeenah is a healing

It is a sanctuary for every heart that is feeling

When I look in the streets, I see young children playing

I wonder if they realize the enormity of this blessing

To be brought up in the blessed streets of this sacred city

To wake up every morning and to enjoy its sanctity

What I would give to be in their place, I wish it were me instead

I wish…I make dua……as I lay here in my bed

Ya Rabbi, take me to Madeenah….that’s where I belong

That’s my place…everywhere else seems so wrong

I just don’t belong here…. I simply don’t blend in

Nothing else seems right, I just don’t fit in

It’s Madeenah that I desire, to Madeenah is my Calling

Madeenah is the place my achy heart is longing

How my heart craves…. How it yearns to be with you

Madeenah is where I left my heart, O Madeenah, how I miss you!

Every time I visit you, with immense peace I am overcome

My restless heart finds peace… a feeling… I’m finally home

I love you O Madeenah, I love you in so many ways

I want to spend my life there, for the rest of my days

In Madeenah I want to live and in Madeenah I want to die

To be buried with ten thousand Sahaabah, in al-Baqee’ I want to lie

So maybe… when we are resurrected, with the Sahaabah I will be

I am hoping Allaah will forgive me, that’s the only chance for me

And just like how Umar al-Faarooq often used to pray

I make the same dua to Allaah as he; and I also say

O Allaah, give me Shahaadah and grant me this Sacred City

For indeed it is pure…. it is blessed….it is Madeenahtun-Nabi

 

2 thoughts on “HAVE YOU EVER YEARNED FOR MADINAH?

  1. Marvellous.
    The poet is the true lover of Prophet Mohammad SAW, peace be upon him.
    I am having the same sentiment as the respected poet.
    May Allah accept our Duas. Ameen

Leave a Reply

