Cherished Sons and Grandsons in the service of Deen……

It was the third year after the hijrah, during the middle of the blessed month of Ramadan.  God had blessed Fatima, daughter of the Messenger of Allah, with her first son.  Ali, the boy’s father, recounts the story himself :

“ When Hasan was born, I originally named him Harb [War], so the Messenger of Allah (peace be upon him) came and said ‘Show me my son, What have you named him?’ We said: ‘Harb’.  He said: ‘Oh no, he is Hasan! [Beautiful]’.  Then when Husain was born, I named him Harb [war], so the Messenger of Allah (peace be upon him) came and said ‘Show me my son, What have you named him?’ We said: ‘Harb’.  He said: ‘Oh no, he is Husain! [Small Beautiful One]’.  Then when my third son was born I named him Harb, so the Messenger of Allah (peace be upon him) came and said ‘ Show me my son, What have you named him?’ We said ‘Harb’.  He said ‘ Oh no, he is Muhsin!’ He then mentioned “I have named them after the Sons of [Prophet] Aaron: Shibr, Shabr, Mishbar” [Ahmed]

Courtesy: Almadinainstitute.org

2 thoughts on “Cherished Sons and Grandsons in the service of Deen……

  1. May we realize the sanctity of Muharram ul Haram and be blessed with the piety, selflessness and love for Allah Almighty and the deen He deemed for us to follow in the spirit and tradition of the Imams Hasnain (Razi Allah Anhuma)… Aameen.

    I am trying to fast this Muharram. Please pray that I follow the spirit of this ibadat and supplication as is intended.

Leave a Reply

