A RAMADAN GIFT………..

A memory of my mother and his mother on the occasion of his fast at age eight………….

 

Assalaam Alaykum,

I hope you all are doing well, Insha-Allah.

Today it’s been 41 years since I fasted for the first time,  it was Juma- tul- wida in Ramadan of 1970. To celebrate this occasion(roza khushahi) my parents had invited all the close family members, Ammie had cooked lots to eat for iftar and for dinner, I still remember everyone liked the shami kababs which topped the bunch.

You all must be wondering how old was I then, well I was 8 years old and remembered few things from that day, first one is very special. The gifts that I had gotten from Mahmudah apa were two books first one was how to perform salah and the second one was the book of duas. For all the gifts and money I received from others are all gone, but these two books I still have with me. As Daddy had always said books are the best gifts.
Back then for an eight year old, I probably did not had too much interest in books especially in religious books, but over the years I realize that this was the best gift I had gotten that day. 

I pray to Allah SWT to give your dear mother a place in Jannah, Aameen.

Leave a Reply

