TRAPPED ON THE ISLAND…………..

Japans impending nuclear meltdown:http://www.redlandsdailyfacts.com/news/ci_17597932

 

I have just arrived home, and as I am fixing my cup of tea. The news comes on and  I am transfixed at the news byte on the tsunami in Japan………

I remember……….

I am in Hiroshima and we walk to the memorial Park but have to wait as several buses loaded with school children stop and spill out girls in skirts and white blouses and boys in shorts and white shirt and tie. I walk behind them to the Memorial and the teachers are explaining to them and then the kids lift a banner of “peace” and I am shaken by the enormity of the impact on Japan of the Atomic Bomb. They have sworn never to allow that again………..I enter the museum and on a stone left over from the Hiroshima atomic bomb, is an imprint of a woman’s hand where the person was burnt into the stone by the fire of the atomic rage.

Courtesy : Wikipedia: The only survivor of the Nuclear Bomb on Hiroshima

Never did the people in Japan dream in their wildest nightmares that they would be hit by a triple whammy: An earthquake, a tsunami and now an impending nuclear meltdown.

I look at my tea, I am blessed, I think at least for now, how long before I meet my maker and in what condition?

I cannot question the wisdom of Allah Subhanawataala for sending three disasters to a small island…….I am searching, what is the message for me?

I look around me everything in my house is powered by electricity which is produced by nuclear power, I live sandwiched between two huge centers of nuclear power, I am amazed that in this many years I have not grown a third arm from the radioactivity. I guess it must be my strong and resilient Pakistani genes.

Earthquakes I try to think what the scriptures say about earthquakes and in my state of turmoil I cannot recall.

I do know that in Surah Naaziyaat the Day of Judgment is described and watching the striken faces of the men and women in Japan I feel their Day of Judgment is staring them in the face.

What must I do, how must I change, how must I prepare to meet my Lord?

I think it is in Surah Naaziyaat that Allah Subhanawataala says that all but the Momin will see the horror and experience it.

But when the great disaster cometh, (34) The day when man will call to mind his (whole) endeavour, (35) And hell will stand forth visible to him who seeth, (36) Then, as for him who rebelled (37) And chose the life of the world, (38) Lo! hell will be his home. (39) But as for him who feared to stand before his Lord and restrained his soul from lust, (40) Lo! the Garden will be his home. (41)

The question is how to transform myself from Muslim to Momin………..Any suggestions?

Meanwhile, the technology that brings the horror faced by humanity to me via technology was discovered and described by a Muslim in America……….I can’t remember his name, did he get a Nobel prize for a lifetime of work in a dark lab? Why do I think of him, he has left a Sadaqa Jariya for doing good if people use the airwaves and internet for good versus evil.

Help must go out; I must empty the coffers, be generous and save only what I need to survive. Will I do that, or does the pain end with the click of the remote turning off the news.

As the news fades, the face of the unnamed Japanese man swims in front of my eyes as he looks into the camera with the full knowledge in his eyes that he is trapped on the island both in life and in death, with no way out.

I must remind myself…………… and perhaps you must too:

At-Takathur
In the name of Allah, the Beneficent, the Merciful

Rivalry in worldly increase distracteth you (1) Until ye come to the graves. (2) Nay, but ye will come to know! (3) Nay, but ye will come to know! (4) Nay, would that ye knew (now) with a sure knowledge! (5) For ye will behold hell-fire. (6) Aye, ye will behold it with sure vision. (7) Then, on that day, ye will be asked concerning pleasure. (8)


2 thoughts on “TRAPPED ON THE ISLAND…………..

  1. Asalaam o alaikum Summayya,
    May Allah reward you for your compassionate heart. Thank you fpr your duas/
    Inshallah you are in my prayers, please remember to keep me in yours.

  2. jazakaallah for the reminder whoever u r thank you for this reminder may Allah make you to walk on the straight path and reward u with jannah pls remember me in ur duas

Leave a Reply

