DEADLY DISTRACTIONS………102: 2-8 PART TWO

For part One  CLICK HERE

Surah at Takhathur

سُورَةُ التّکاثُر
بِسمِ ٱللهِ ٱلرَّحمَـنِ ٱلرَّحِيمِ
أَلهَكُمُ ٱلتَّكَاثُرُ (١) حَتَّى زُرتُمُ ٱلمَقَابِرَ (٢) كَلَّا سَوفَ تَعلَمُونَ (٣) ثُمَّ كَلَّا سَوفَ تَعلَمُونَ (٤) كَلَّا لَو تَعلَمُونَ عِلمَ ٱليَقِينِ (٥) لَتَرَوُنَّ ٱلجَحِيمَ (٦) ثُمَّ لَتَرَوُنَّہَا عَينَ ٱليَقِينِ (٧) ثُمَّ لَتُسـَٔلُنَّ يَومَذٍ عَنِ ٱلنَّعِيمِ (٨)

Surah At-Takathur 102:1
In the name of Allah, the Beneficent, the Merciful
Rivalry in worldly increase distracteth you (1) Until ye come to the graves. (2) Nay, but ye will come to know! (3) Nay, but ye will come to know! (4) Nay, would that ye knew (now) with a sure knowledge! (5) For ye will behold hell-fire. (6) Aye, ye will behold it with sure vision. (7) Then, on that day, ye will be asked concerning pleasure. (8)

TAFSEER BY DR. HY:
TORRENTIAL RAIN, A MERCY OR A PUNISHMENT?
WE SAW A MOMENT OF THE AKHIRAH, with the torrential rains in the city of jeddah.
Water is a mercy, but when the torrential rain came we saw what people would be like in Akhirah, It was every man for himself.

Disasters teach us the following:

1. Beware of being busy with things other than Allah.
2. The one who Allah gives Khair in jannah depends on what he or she was doing when the MOMENT (The day of judgment) comes. If that person is doing Dhikr then he or she gets Khiar.

HAPPY NEW YEAR From pakistan: Courtesy:http://www.flickr.com/photos/54048514@N00/264813500/


Tafseer continued

We spend a lot of time running about things in dunya, which if we get involved absorbs us into a rat race.

Ayah 2: حَتَّى زُرتُمُ ٱلمَقَابِرَ (٢)
You were so busy until your visit to the graves

Hasan Al Basri said:
The word used here is  “VISIT”, which means that final destination is Akhirah we are only visiting while we are in the graves for an interim period, before the final Day of Akhirah.

Hadith: Muslim, & Tirmidhi (from Ibn Kathir)
The servant says of his possessions: My child, my health, my car etc. My wealth, my wealth! Yet he only gets three benefits from his wealth:
1.That which he eats and finishes
2. That which he wears until it s worn out
3. That which he gives in charity and it is spent
Everything else will go away and will be left behind.

أَلهَكُمُ ٱلتَّكَاثُرُ (١)
HADITH:

Three things follow the deceased:
1. His family friends and they will leave
2. His wealth will leave
3. His actions (amaal) will be the only thing, which will stay.
The reason he said “ I used to forbid you from visiting the graveyard, (later he allowed it)
Now I permit you as the look of the graveyard reminds us of our end.

It takes us away from the rat race.

أَلهَكُمُ ٱلتَّكَاثُرُ (١)
Ayah 3 and 4

كَلَّا سَوفَ تَعلَمُونَ (٣) ثُمَّ كَلَّا سَوفَ تَعلَمُونَ (٤)

Allah says, “you will know” and repeats it.
What will I know?
He says you will know the connection between the wealth you are running after, and the end in the graveyard.  I will take nothing with me, All the time and effort that we wasted running after wealth, came to nothing.

Hasan AL Basri says;
Don’t be fooled by the number of people you see around yourself (children, grandchildren, friends, admirers etc) remember you will go by yourself, your will be resurrected by yourself, your will be accountable for yourself”

These ayahs 3&4 are a warning, from Allah repeated twice!
He says don’t do that (what you are wasting your time in), you will know the mistake you have done.
References from the Quran:
Surah Furqan 25:30:
وَقَالَ ٱلرَّسُولُ يَـرَبِّ إِنَّ قَومِى ٱتَّخَذُواْ هَـذَا ٱلقُرءَانَ مَهجُورًا (٣٠)

And the messenger saith: O my Lord! Lo! Mine own folk make this Qur’an of no account. (30)

Hadith Rasool Allah said: my people took this Quran and left it. They said they do not have time to read it.

The message is to return  and refocus on what is important in the long run.

We know that this dunya s we know it can end in a heartbeat minute. We have many examples of it. Each of us has faced it in some manner.

Ayah 5: كَلَّا لَو تَعلَمُونَ عِلمَ ٱليَقِينِ (٥)
لَتَرَوُنَّ ٱلجَحِيمَ (٦)

THE VISION THAT COMES WITH ILM AL YAQEEN
When Allah says if you really knew (ilm al Yaqeen: if you are certain in your Deen and the know irrevocably that everything is from Allah), then you will see the Hellfire in this dunya.

If you have the knowledge of Yaqeen you will see hellfire with certainty in this dunya and you will live with fear, WHICH WILL KEEP YOU AWAY FROM THE FIRE.

If I can see the Hellfire in this dunya I will be on the straight path willingly, as it will be a re-director and re-focuser for my actions in dunya.

Why am I not seeing the Hellfire? Because I do not have the yaqeen? Because dunya appears so beautiful.
In Surah Al Imran Allah Subhanawataala describes how dunya appears to us:

زُيِّنَ لِلنَّاسِ حُبُّ ٱلشَّهَوَتِ مِنَ ٱلنِّسَآءِ وَٱلبَنِينَ وَٱلقَنَـطِيرِ ٱلمُقَنطَرَةِ مِنَ ٱلذَّهَبِ وَٱلفِضَّةِ وَٱلخَيلِ ٱلمُسَوَّمَةِ وَٱلأَنعَـمِ وَٱلحَرثِ ذَلِكَ مَتَـعُ ٱلحَيَوةِ ٱلدُّنيَا وَٱللَّهُ عِندَهُ  حُسنُ ٱلمَـَٔابِ (١٤)

Beautified for mankind is love of the joys (that come) from women and offspring; and stored-up heaps of gold and silver, and horses branded (with their mark), and cattle and land. That is comfort of the life of the world. Allah! With Him is a more excellent abode. (14

What kind of knowledge; if we have that knowledge 9ilm al Yaqeen) we long for Allah

Nothing will benefit us except this ilm al Yaqeen to prepare us to lead a life in this dunya in a manner that will save us from the Hellfire.

If I live with the delusion that even though my deeds are minimum, but am placidly expecting that He will reward me with abundance, then I am living in a world where there is no ilm al Yaqeen.

Thus this ayah begins with “you are too busy”

I say I am too busy; usually we blame our children as a reason for being busy or blame them for being too busy to study Deen. However, we make ourselves busy with the collecting and relishing of wealth and all those things that keep us away from Him and we end up doing the absolute minimum to prepare for Akirah.

He says then “you will be asked: of two bounties that human being s are wasting :
Time and Health
Health: When I am healthy, I did not fast, did not do Hajj or did it quickly because my business was not making money.

Time: I wasted the time, when I had plenty of it I was “bored”
He is watching you and He is near………. Al Raqeeb, Al Qareeb
If I know that he is watching me…….
If I know that He is close, every breathing moment, what would I do different with that consciousness of His presence?

What is Naeem?

ثُمَّ لَتُسـَٔلُنَّ يَومَذٍ عَنِ ٱلنَّعِيمِ (٨)

Then, on that day, ye will be asked concerning pleasure. (8)
Allah Subhanawataala frightens us but also gives us the solution:

He will ask where did you get it? And what did you do with it?

The momin will have no problem with that question:
A momin got the halal from every naimah that Allah gave him and was grateful to Allah for it in everything i.e.   time, money, children everything.

Each one of us will be asked:

Where did my money come from?
How did I achieve that?
What is Allah’s due right in what Allah gives us?
Allah gave us a masjid 5 minutes form home:
What did you do with it?
Why did you go to the masjid?
What did you do there?

What do I do with my eyes? I have a choice (some people are blind and have no choice)

What do I look at?
Do I look at haraam?
Do I look down on people?
Do I look at myself arrogantly?
Do I read what pleases Allah?
‘Do I read what displeases Allah?

and more……..

Supplication: May Allah allow the real meaning of the Quran, to sink into our hearts until our body, senses and intellect respond to its commands voluntarily and with genuine pleasure
Ameen

3 thoughts on “DEADLY DISTRACTIONS………102: 2-8 PART TWO

  1. Pingback: TRAPPED ON THE ISLAND………….. « Siraat-e-Mustaqeem

  2. Pingback: DEADLY DISTRACTIONS………. 102:1-2 PART ONE « Siraat-e-Mustaqeem

Leave a Reply

