ARABIC LESSON ONE: THE LANGUAGE OF JANNAH

 

This map, made by MaGioZal, shows the countrie...

The Arabic speaking world: via Wikipedia

 

Communication is the essence of sweet connection, the language of love, hate, anger, disappointment and the cure of loneliness.

The Mutaqeen or those who walk this earth in a state of exquisite consciousness of their Creator, as if they are in His presence and if not that then at least are aware that He is watching them, to them are promised the Gardens of Paradise.

Have you ever thought what language will be spoken in Paradise? Rasool Allah pbuh said “ you will be with the person you love” Would you not want to communicate with the one you love in Paradise?

So what is the language of Jannah?

The answer lies in the words of the Quran itself where Allah Subhanawataala states that the Jannatis will be greeted with “salaam”, and thus the language of Jannah is the language of the Quran. The Quranic Arabic where each word spoken holds a world of a meaning, in a realm of its own.

I am excited and happy looking forward to our first class in Quranic Arabic this evening, I rush from the Hospital to salah and on the way stop at Staples to buy a copy book and a set of Calligraphy pens. They are pens used for Calligraphic English and do not have the angle of the tip that is used in Arabic calligraphy. Nevertheless, beggars cannot be choosers. I live in a country that has awakened to Arabic but retail has not caught up with it yet.

“You will be greeted with salaam in jannah. Quranic Arabic is the language of Jannah,” he says in his soft, polite and gentle voice.

We have truly been blessed with the opportunity to learn Quranic Arabic from a Professor who has command of both languages equally and who appears to revere each word of the language he presents to his students.

Unlike any other class in language that I have attended, the Professor takes us on a visit to an elegant exotic souk, where the Arabic alphabet begins like a simple unadorned mannequin in a vogue fashion boutique.

As the lesson proceeds, each alphabet is adorned with symbols of beauty that sway with volumes of speech. With each of the gentle strokes above or below the alphabet the essence of the word they adorn attains a new persona.

Soon all the alphabets are adorned with these dashes and commas placed in strategic places look like the dazzling jewelry on a bride.

Then in some ways the Arabic alphabet is like an iceberg, you see the tip, but then there is something under it and sometimes something over it, radically changing the significance of the word it represents

The dashes and commas are also like birds, that swoop and then extends their flight into the unending sky of emotion within the meaning of the word. The example he gives is of ” Ummmmmi “ which means mother, and the way it is enunciated is like a child’s innocent kiss for her mother. As I mouth it, I am reminded of the sweet gentleness of my own mother.

Once the dashes and commas are all in place, the alphabet looks like an exotic eastern bride, complete with a veil, anklets and bracelets, adorned with the beauty of a meaning, which is untranslatable.

We move to the round symbol of sakoon, which I think is the most fascinating in that it denotes that the alphabet on which it is placed is resting. Yet pronouncing sakoon which comes from sakeena roughly translated as “quietness” brings with it an aura and ambience of peace unparalleled and unexplainable in English or Urdu.

He quotes the verse from Surah Rum in which Allah Subhanawataala states that He in His infinite mercy has placed “sakeena” between the hearts of the spouses”.

There are “stubborn alphabets” he explains and lists. These alphabets do not like to join with another alphabet on their left, and thus are left free standing.

This is the first lesson on Quranic Arabic and I feel I am in a hot air balloon, where sometimes I can see the ground clearly and feel confident that I recognize everything and then we take a turn and I look at the sky and the horizon and realize that there is lot more out there filled with adventure and mystery.

Delving into the basics of Quranic Arabic, peppered with the tantalizing quotes from the Quran and Hadith make me feel as if I am Ali Baba standing at the door of the Cave with the treasure. I find myself slowly memorizing the combination of the words that will open the door and reveal all the precious gems to me…………..and thus I wait for next week for lesson two.

Please keep me in your prayers

Here is an arabic song about Ummmmmmi…..


3 thoughts on “ARABIC LESSON ONE: THE LANGUAGE OF JANNAH

  1. Thank you for your comments – they impacted the nature of my dua immensely. Sometimes I think I should not ask but I have no other choice, only Allah swt can change my fate. I on the otherhand am trying to strive and do my best.

    How is your hajj preparation coming along? I hope so well.

    I said a dua for you and I – as I too am learning to read Arabic. Its a beautiful struggle – just keep the end goal in mind: we will be able to read the Quran with pleasure. Inshallah. Rabbi Zidni Illma for us both,

    God Bless you much,
    R

  2. Walaikum Asalaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu,

    Life is a portrait of a muslim in progress.

    The dejections and discouragements have to be dissolved in Ilm and Dhikr and you will find your calligraphy flowing with the words from the Quran and Hadith while you practice each set that your write.

    I am learning Arabic to directly connect to the word of God, not via an intermediary translater……. Pray that I am able and competent.

    My duas are with you, Ask Him (Subhanawataalla) to help you, dont hope only, ASK! BEG! PLEAD! AND DO NOT STOP TILL HE GIVES YOU!

  3. What a timely reply! Salam. and I hope you are well. It seems from your posts that inshallah you are embarking on Hajj – well if that is the case I hope you find it a fruitful experience, uplifting and enlightening. Btw I am the reader who has previously got in touch with you regarding the hijab, and the merits of the itikaf. Your input and advice was worthy. Its difficult your eman reaches an all time high being focussed in pure ibadat I felt lost when I returned home. I am trying to keep up my acts of deeds but it is proving to be difficult. It is also making me feel sad and dejected. I hope Allah swt helps me.

    Anyway the reason I got in touch was regarding your post about calligraphy. I too am taking lessons, well I was. I stopped as I lost my enthusiam for it and other things in my life took over. but your post renewed my enthusiam and reminded me why I was attracted to this form of art in the first place! It is a beautiful thing. I was have never heard anyone write so beautifully about calligraphy, and I could relate to how you felt.

    Good luck with it.

    Best Regards
    R

Leave a Reply

